Weather Forecast


Brainerd FFA members sworn in for 2018-19

The 2018-19 Brainerd FFA officers sworn in May 5 were Emelia Hinrichs (left), Simon Nelson, Arica Caughey, Olivia Ostrowski, Rachel Wind, Keyahna Kurilla, Karli Knopf and Lea Kruegar. Submitted

The Brainerd FFA hosted its Chapter Banquet Saturday, May 5, at First Lutheran Church in Brainerd. More than 100 members and supporters attended the banquet.

At the banquet there was a meal prepared by Mark Nesheim and many members and community members were recognized for their accomplishments and contributions, a news release stated. One of the recognitions included star awards, which are students nominated by their classmates based on their involvement in FFA this past year. Members were also recognized for their Career Development Event projects they competed in. CDE contests are when members compete against members in other chapters, regions and states. Along with awards, the new officer team was sworn in.

Officers sworn in for 2018-19 were Emelia Hinrichs as president; Karli Knopf as vice president; Simon Nelson as treasurer; Arica Caughey as reporter; Olivia Ostrowski as sentinel; Rachel Wind as assistant officer; Keyahna Kurilla as secretary; and Lea Kruegar as historian.